Danube Sounds

19:00  |  Lobby New Building

16 Jun 2023

Tamás Varga, violoncello

Villa Musica scholarship holders


The beginning of summer in the lush, blooming sound of strings: Tamás Varga, principal cellist of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, builds bridges from the Danube to the Rhine with young string players. "It's even nicer to travel on the Rhine to Nonnenwerth and Rolandseck!" This is how Max Kalbeck comments on Brahms' summery B-flower Sextet. Brahms' Viennese friend Robert Fuchs spices his duos with Danube sounds from Vienna to Budapest. The Hungarian Dohnányi wrote a Viennese Serenade, the Prague Davis Popper a little march for cellos. A program between Danube monarchy and Rhenish Brahms.


Ernö von Dohnànyi: Serenade in C major for string trio, op. 10

David Popper: Little March for two cellos

Robert Fuchs: From the 12 Duos for Violin and Viola, op. 16

Johannes Brahms: String Sextet No. 1 in B flat major, op. 18


Tickets: 30 Euros | Children below the age of 18: 6 Euros


Villa Musica

Share this content